Interstate Concealed Carry

Firearms Safety Training Courses

Blog, FAQs, FYIs

How do I know if I am eligible to obtain the Utah concealed firearm permit?

Posted on November 1, 2013 at 8:00 AM

Applicant must be at least 21 years of age, and be a US Citizen or US resident alien.

Show proof of good character...whereas the applicant:

has not been convicted of a felony

has not been convicted of any crime of violence

has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances

has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol

has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude

has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence

has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed.

is not Illegal or unlawfully in the United States as an alien

Having been a citizen of the United States, has not renounced his/her citizenship.


So, you will not be eligible for a license if you are; a felon, been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces, have been adjudicated mentally defective, are younger than 20 years old, under arrest or currently charged with a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year, been found guilty of crimes of domestic violence, or have a recent alcohol related arrest, including DWI/DWAI, or you are not a legal US Citizen or legal US resident alien.

There is no exam in the Utah course.


Considerable Guidelines

Utah Concealed Firearm Permit

DENIAL * SUSPENSION * REVOCATION

 

Class C misdemeanors and non weapon related infractions ……………..………..… 3 years

Class B misdemeanors……………………………………………………………….......… 4 years

Class A misdemeanors………………………………………………….….…………..…... 5 years

i.e. crimes of violence, unlawful use of alcohol, unlawful use of narcotics/controlled substances, moral turpitude and weapons/firearms violations

 

Juvenile felony conviction (non violent - property crimes)………….………….......……... 7 years

Juvenile felony conviction (violent - crimes against person)…………...…………....…. 10 years


Felony conviction or not qualified to purchase and possess firearms pursuant to State and Federal law…… Lifetime

(unless dismissed, reduced to a misdemeanor or expunged)

 

Domestic violence……………………………………………………….……….………... Lifetime

(unless dismissed, reduced to an infraction or expunged)

 

Protective orders…………………………………………………………….………..……. Lifetime

(unless removed, must be a family member or cohabitant) (not a neighbor, friend, etc.)

 

Mentally incompetent (adjudicated by a State or Federal court)…………………....... Lifetime

(unless withdrawn or reversed)

 

Danger to self or others (threat of or attempt of suicide, with or without an arrest or conviction)… Suspension

(time frame based on the CFP Board’s decision)

 

Past pattern of violent behavior………………………………………..…………….. Suspension

(time frame based on the CFP Board’s decision)

 

Convicted of a registerable sex offense, as defined in Subsection 77-27-21.5(1)(n)…………....… Lifetime

(unless dismissed or expunged)

 

Insufficient Fingerprints…………………………………….. Suspension until the bureau receives a new set of fingerprints

 

Moral turpitude disqualifiers: is done knowing contrary to justice, honesty, or good morals; has an element of falsification or fraud; or contains an element of harm or injury directed to another person or another’s property

 

"Sex offender" means any person:

Class A misdemeanor violation of Section 76-4-401, enticing a minor;

Class A misdemeanor violation of Section 76-9-702.7, voyeurism;

Section 76-5-401.1, sexual abuse of a minor;

Section 76-5-401.2, unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17 year old; Section 76-5-402, rape;

Section 76-5-402.1, rape of a child;

Section 76-5-402.2, object rape;

Section 76-5-402.3, object rape of a child;

Section 76-5-403.1, sodomy on a child;

Section 76-5-404, forcible sexual abuse;

Section 76-5-404.1, sexual abuse of a child or aggravated sexual abuse of a child;

Section 76-5-405, aggravated sexual assault;

Section 76-5a-3, sexual exploitation of a minor;

Section 76-7-102, incest;

Subsection 76-9-702(1), lewdness, if the person has been convicted of the offense four or more times;

Subsection 76-9-702(3), sexual battery, if the person has been convicted of the offense four or more times;

Any combination of convictions of Subsection 76-9-702(1), lewdness, and of Subsection 76-9-702(3), sexual battery, total four or more convictions;

Section 76-9-702.5, lewdness involving a child;

Section 76-10-1306, aggravated exploitation of prostitution 

ALL TIME FRAMES START FROM THE DATE THE CASE IS CLOSED. THIS INCLUDES PROBATION, FINES, Etc.

53-5-704(2)(a) The bureau may deny, suspend, or revoke a concealed firearm permit if the applicant or permit holder:

(i) has been or is convicted of a felony;

(ii) has been or is convicted of a crime of violence;

(iii) has been or is convicted of an offense involving the use of alcohol;

(iv) has been or is convicted of an offense involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;

(v) has been or is convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude;

(vi) has been or is convicted of an offense involving domestic violence;

(vii) has been or is adjudicated by a state or federal court as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed; and

(viii) is not qualified to purchase and possess a firearm pursuant to Section 76-10-503 and federal law.

Categories: Utah Course FAQS